Catechesis Levels

Level 1:

The Level 1 Atrium is for 3 through 6 year olds. It is characterized by the child’s virtues of joy and contemplation.  They receive presentations about the person of Jesus, His Kingdom, and their life with Him through liturgy with joy and then most often work alone and contemplate what they have heard, working with the various materials in the Atrium.

Level 2:

The Level 2 Atrium is for 6 through 9 year olds and includes preparation for the sacraments of 1st Communion and 1st Reconciliation, usually in the child’s second year. The children at this stage are ready to respond to the relationship with God that they have received in the Level 1 Atrium in a more active way through living a moral life.  The Level 2 Atrium thus adds the element of morality to its considerations and materials.  These older children are also developing the powers of imagination and abstraction, and are able to ponder cosmic and salvation history, and to especially enjoy thinking about their role in building the Kingdom of God.

Level 3:

The Level 3 Atrium, for 9 to 12 year olds, provides the child with the means to apply the spiritual and moral formation from the prior levels to his or her own life in a personal way. This older child begins to think about how God is asking him personally to build the kingdom of God. There is time for journaling, Scripture study, and work with a large variety of materials to consider the liturgy, sacraments, Scripture, and the history of the kingdom of God.


View tuition and register for Catechesis level 1, 2, or 3!